Last Tourist hail from the dark beating heart of Leeds. They conjure the sound of creeping down dark corridors and wandering through disused spaces, all set to a moody and rhythmic danceable beat.

Drawing firmly from post-punk ideals, this darkwave, shoegaze, synth infused four piece formed in 2017 when John Wellby (guitar, vocals, programming) and Adam Simpson (synths, programming, backing vocals) joined forces as a duo. Their initial recordings were propelled by bands such as Echo & the Bunnymen, Suicide, OMD and The Jesus & Mary Chain.

Driven by his radio airplay experience nearly a decade earlier in Broadcast Society, John set about recruiting additional band members of similar vision. Jason Booth (bass guitar, bass synth), John’s longtime mate and Sheffield Synth City native, was asked to join and bring his Leeds underground music and gig scene experience to the mix. Finally, recent recruit Andrea Parra (drums, backing vocals) a Londoner by way of San Francisco (and fresh from recording percussion for Phillip Parfitt of The Perfect Disaster) neatly joins a bridge between north and south. Together they invoke haunting synth melodies and powerful bass lines, entwined with a wash of guitar reverb, moody vocals and rhythmic danceable drums.

Last Tourist’s third single “Cave In The Hills” is released on digital format on 28 April, 2021. The single is co-produced by John Wellby and John Pennington (Head Sound Engineer/New Order), a Strawberry Studios North veteran who has worked alongside Martin Hannet, and whose history is infused with the studio’s deep associations with Joy Division, The Smiths, New Order, and A Certain Ratio. The single is exactingly and sensitively mastered by Simon Scott (Slowdive).

John Wellby – guitar, vocals, programming / Adam Simpson – synths, programming, backing vocals / Jason Booth – bass guitar, bass synth / Andrea Parra – drums, backing vocals